Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.
May 09, 2024, 04:08:15 AM

Posts that, in my personal judgement, create too much conflict in the community, may be deleted - If members repost the same topic, they may be banned from future posts - Even though I have disabled the Registration, send me an email at:  vtgrandpa@yahoo.com if you want to register and I will do that for you
Newest Member: Christy25
+  Henry Raymond
|-+  Fairfax Bloggers
| |-+  Uncle Mike's Thoughts Of The Day
| | |-+  Picture of the Day 12/5/10 and Blog- 50
« previous next »
: [1]
: Picture of the Day 12/5/10 and Blog- 50  ( 7930 )
MikeF9
: 1994

« : December 05, 2010, 12:17:48 AM »

Sunday December 5, 2010
Picture of the Day

Yours truly. 1978. 17 years old.

Fifty.
5-0. But not Hawaii Five-O.
Old joke. I’ve told it before. Alan King used to say, “I turned 50. People say, ‘You’re middle-aged.’ HOW MANY PEOPLE DO YOU KNOW LIVE TO BE 100?”

Here is the truly scary part. I graduated from BFA in June of 1978. For any of my classmates reading, consider this: We are now older than most of the faculty when we graduated. I checked the yearbook and I think the only teachers that were 50 or older were Eleanor Berry, Barbara King, Ernie Codding, and maybe Chauncy Eldridge. Even Dick Brown was still in his 40’s.

If the old saying “You’re as young as you feel.” is true, I’m actually 70. Between the arthritis in my knees, and the side effects of the kidney disease, I’m feeling it. I sit at the computer for a while, go to get up, and it takes a few seconds for my legs to limber up so I can walk. My energy level is crap. It is so hard to get out of bed in the morning(well, that may be on account of the season). I don’t have the ambition to do ANYTHING. When I worked in the lumber yard at Spartan Industries, Jim Zeno would take off on the forklift. I would take off , run, and catch up to him and jump on the running board. No way I could do that now.