Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.
May 17, 2024, 09:42:30 AM

Posts that, in my personal judgement, create too much conflict in the community, may be deleted - If members repost the same topic, they may be banned from future posts - Even though I have disabled the Registration, send me an email at:  vtgrandpa@yahoo.com if you want to register and I will do that for you
Newest Member: Christy25
+  Henry Raymond
|-+  Fairfax News
| |-+  Political Issues/Comments
| | |-+  Melissa Beerworth for Fairfax Selectboard
« previous next »
: [1]
: Melissa Beerworth for Fairfax Selectboard  ( 2704 )
melissabeerworth
: 18

« : February 18, 2009, 12:02:49 PM »

I'd like to take this opportunity to introduce myself to those of you who don't know me.  My name is Melissa Beerworth and I'm running for the vacant 2 year term on the Fairfax Selectboard.

I grew up in Beverly , on the North Shore of Boston, MA were I graduated from Beverly High School in 1999.  I worked for 4 years as the manager and buyer for a local boutique.  I moved to Burlington in 2003 were I lived for a year before my husband and I moved to Fairfax in the summer of 2004 and purchased our home on Buck Hollow Rd.

At the encouragement of a good friend, I started to attend the weekly public Selectboard meetings in July of 2008.  I was immediately intrigued by the complexity of what goes into running the town I have called my home for the last 4 years.  There are very important decisions made every week that have a huge impact on the citizens of Fairfax .  There in lies my reason for asking for your support.  The age bracket of 25-34 year olds is the second largest demographic in this town.  I feel very strongly that this demographic needs a voice on the selectboard.  This perspective in the decision making processes that affect our day to day lives as residents of Fairfax  is currently nonexistent.