Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 05:50:17 AM

Posts that, in my personal judgement, create too much conflict in the community, may be deleted - If members repost the same topic, they may be banned from future posts - Even though I have disabled the Registration, send me an email at:  vtgrandpa@yahoo.com if you want to register and I will do that for you
Newest Member: Christy25
+  Henry Raymond
|-+  General
| |-+  General Discussion
| | |-+  Health NOTE for those who use/need digestive enzymes UPDATE
« previous next »
: [1]
: Health NOTE for those who use/need digestive enzymes UPDATE  ( 2374 )
nancyd
: 304

« : February 05, 2016, 10:12:41 AM »

You know me as Nancyd. I am a registered nurse, with a BSN in nursing. I also do indepth research into various health conditions to investigate current modes of treatment.
There are conditions that necessitate the use of digestive enzymes.
The problem is, they are very expensive., and can cost upwards of $400.00 a month, depending on the brand recommended by the physician. That is the copay amount..depending on drug coverage. Now there is a backorder on pancrealipase.

My research recently uncovered a site in California that provides health supplements, and a digestive enzyme called pancreatin. Physicians prescribe varrying doses of digestive enzymes depending on the needs of a patient. The dose is determined by the condition, ie, pancreatitis, IBS, small intestinal bacterial overgrowth ( SIBO), and others, and by body weight.

Digestive enzymes are very expensive. The company I found makes pancreatin and amounts of lipase stated is 17,000 units per capsule.physicians usually prescribe 45,000 to 85,000 units per meal for patients with SIBO and pancreatitis.

Getting back to cost.. The company I found provides a stated 17,500 units
Per capsule . the cost for the amount needed is $149.00 versus $250.00 to $400.00 a month.